Its Gone

So the date is December 19th 2016 and I just did something I never thought I would do in my entire life. I shaved my head…

Yup, its all gone. Not the brightest of ideas considering its about 23 degrees outside right now in Austin, Tx. When you are really trying to make a statement about who you are, timing isn’t everything. I have this weird thing where I do things that feel good and feel right at the time. As you would expect or maybe not expect, you have to be able to handle life after. “Roll with the punches” if you will. Most of the time I find that I am pretty methodical and I plan my crap out pretty well.
I have to say that shaving ones head took some guts, I actually did research about the benefits for it. So needless to say, I hit to the internet and its many forms of obtaining information. Watched video’s and read articles from beauty bloggers from all across the world that decided to try this out. Now most of them did it as a form of making some kind of statement or they did it because a relative or friend was suffering from cancer and as a form of love and compassion, so they shaved their head with them to show them they’re not alone and that love is here.

When I was younger I loved my long hair. It was always in my face and always in my way. I was about fourteen to fifteen years old and that’s right around the time hormones kicked in and made me want to mount every man I would cat call in my mind and I was breaking out in acne. Ugh, the despised acneic teenager phase of life. Never cute.

Tip #1 one with acne. Hair does not break people out. Its the products you put in your hair. Because there is no real governing agency to really enforce a rule about what they say on the box they can put ingredients in their product that does in fact clog pores. That coupled with hormonal surges. You will definitely break out. Natural is usually better.

I wish I knew this when I was younger and I had a real desire to care about my outside appearance. My mother always told my sister and I to just be good people and you’ll attract the right people. I thought she was crazy. Now I view my mother as some Asian version of Yoda.

So now I look like Yoda and I feel like this whole shaved head thing for me is going to be a fresh start for me and I am going to view life in a different way. Because now having a shaved head. People in your life have to really like you for your personality. Hair has powers, as odd as that may sound, but most people take it for granted until its gone. I think because I knew I had nice hair I never wanted to lose it. So forcing myself to take that away from myself made me stronger on a deep personal level. I’m definitely out of my comfort zone here and totally look more Asian, but that’s ok. I will own this. It brought out my eyes, my smile and everything my hair would otherwise hide from the world. I’m completely exposed and I kind of am excited to see how the world I live in responds to me. Never be afraid of the unknown. Its only scary because you don’t know what will happen. When has that ever not been the case? Jump in, take the plunge, take the chance to live outside your comfort zone. The feeling after you get through it, its indescribable but its never bad. You learn from mistakes you learn more from them actually. Everything else is just pebbles and sand. It doesn’t fill your life jar completely. Be brave…

Leave a Reply

